The Frank Salad

June 15, 2015 at 3:45 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Hey, everybody! I’m going to teach you how to make a Frank salad today (no, settle down ladies…not like that).

I take a holistic approach to health and well-being. A huge part of being in good health is what you eat. Good food shouldn’t just be smart about calories – it should be functional food that tastes good and gives you nutrition. The Frank salad has all of that and on top of all that, it’s ridiculously easy to make and very portable! – great for those of us on the go. In this post I’ll show you how to make it as a first course for dinner at home and as a portable side for lunch. As an added bonus, this salad helps to keep you regular. Don’t laugh, intestinal health is critical to overall health!

I eat this salad at least once every weekday and as often as I remember on the weekends. As such, I’ve developed quite a nice system of storage containers and quick ways to make this up. Total prep time is under five minutes, even if you’re making two like I am in this post.

The vegetables you’ll need are red onion, tomatoes, cucumber, and carrots. I use my red onions in thin slices, the small tomatoes to avoid lots of prep, and julienned carrots. If you can afford the extra money, go organic! For the greens, I suggest red leaf, green leaf, or romaine lettuce. You can also use the bagged spring mix. Whatever you do, don’t use iceberg lettuce – it has very little nutritional value and, in my opinion, not much flavor.

I begin by washing my greens. This photo is a bag of the spring mix. I dump it in to the bowl, pick out all the icky-looking stuff, and dump the water out. It’s a good way to rinse off the greens and get all of the bad stuff out. Then refill with cold water and store in the fridge, uncovered. Your greens will stay good this way for a lot longer. This is a neat trick that also works with fresh herbs, asparagus, broccoli, and just about any other green vegetables. It keeps things fresh for longer and perks up veggies that are starting to look a little sad.

CAM01577

Wash your greens! This keeps them fresh, clean, and crisp for a lot longer than simply storing them in the bag from the store.

Here’s a photo of how I keep my veggies. I keep my cucumber in thirds because one third is as much as I use for one serving of the salad. The carrots are easy – just toss in a handful. The tomatoes are easy, too – rinse and toss in to the salad. The onion I slice by hand very carefully. I prefer my cucumber chopped and peeled, but you can do whatever you like – be creative!

CAM01578

Veggie storage for an efficient setup.

The first thing I do is pile up all the veggies.

CAM01579

Always do the veggies first.

Then, lay the greens on top. This is especially important if you are storing it for lunch the following day because lettuce can becomes soggy if it is waterlogged without way to breathe, as in a container for work. So I always make sure to put my veggies on the bottom and my greens on the top, then give it a few minutes to air dry a bit before sealing up the container.

CAM01580

Lay the greens on top. The container is for storing and eating on-the-go. The plate will make you feel like a five-star chef!

If you’re eating it right away, toss the salad and drizzle with your favorite dressing (featured dressing is Russian – nom nom). If you’re eating it the next day, add the dressing right before you eat the salad. If you add the dressing before then, you’ll end up with liquid lettuce.

CAM01581

Voila! Functional, healthy, refreshing, and oh-so-satisfying.

And there you have it! It took me longer to write this post than it did to make those two servings of the salad in the pictures. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

